Bronze Star

The Bronze Star Medal is awarded to any person who, while serving in any capacity with the Armed Forces of the United States, distinguishes himself after 6 December 1941, by heroic or meritorious achievement or service, not involving participation in aerial flight

(a) while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States;

(b) while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force; or

(c) while serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a belligerent party.

To justify this decoration, accomplishment or performance of duty above that normally expected, and sufficient to distinguish the individual among those performing comparable duties, is required, although less than the requirements for the Silver Star or the Legion of Merit. Minor acts of heroism in actual combat, single acts of merit or meritorious service in connection with military or naval operations my justify this award.

The Combat Distinguishing Device may be authorized.

The naval helicopter recipients of this award are as followed:

LT John Maye Quarterman, USN

CDR James Dwight Wilkinson, USN (Ret.)

CDR Steven R. Schreiber, USN

Return to Honors