Distinguished Flying Cross

The Distinguished Flying Cross is awarded to any person who, while serving in any capacity with the U. S. Navy, U.S. Coast Guard or the U.S. Marine Corps, distinguishes himself by heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in an aerial flight. To justify this decoration for heroism, an act in the face of danger, well above those actions performed by others engaged in similar flight operation, is required; for achievement, the results accomplished must be so exceptional as to render them conspicuous among those accomplished by others involved in similar circumstances. Establishment of a new aerial record does not necessarily qualify as an extraordinary achievement in aerial flight.

The naval helicopter recipients of this award are as followed:

LT Robert L. Dolton, USNR

LTJG James Alan Billings, USNR

LT Robert V. Goodloe, Jr., USN

LT James C. Spillman, USN

LT Harold V. Pepper, USN

LT Richaard Wendell “Dickie” Barr, USNR

LT Harry Zinser, USN

LT John Maye Quarterman, USN

LT John B. Whiddon, USCG

LCDR John B. Widdon, USCG

LCDR Scott Sanborn, USCG

LT John Briggs, USCG

AST3 Tyler Gantt, USCG

Return to Honors